Rendre les parcs nationaux du Canada accessibles

Le projet Parcs accessibles Canada est un projet de recherche interdisciplinaire mené par le Engineering Health Lab (qui fait partie de l'Institut de recherche KITE) et des chercheurs affiliés. Notre objectif est de réviser les lignes directrices pour rendre les parcs nationaux du Canada plus accessibles. Notre recherche est financée par Normes d'accessibilité Canada.

Kootenay Adaptive Mountain Bike

Notre recherche

Les parcs nationaux deviennent chaque année plus accessibles, mais nous sommes loin d'atteindre une véritable accessibilité des parcs pour tous. À partir de notre expérience et de nos consultations, nous avons identifié des domaines clés qui nécessitent une exploration plus approfondie. Nous mènerons des recherches dans ces domaines au cours des prochains mois. Restez à l'écoute!

Image by National Cancer Institute
This icon describes the concept of mobility adaptions, using an individual pushed on a wheelchair.

Adaptations de mobilité

Image by Sigmund
This icon describes the concept of sensory adaptions using American Sign Language.

Adaptations sensorielles

Image by Fakurian Design
This icon describes the concept of cognitive adaptions using a photo of a brain within a skull.

Adaptations cognitives

Matrice d'accessibilité

L'un des principaux livrables de ce projet est une matrice de solutions d'accessibilité. Ce tableau sera rempli de solutions et de normes de conception pour améliorer l'accessibilité des personnes handicapées qui souhaitent visiter les parcs nationaux et y participer à des activités. Un aperçu de cette matrice préliminaire peut être vu ci-dessous.

This is a snapshot of the accessibility matrix we have created, using various rows and columns.

Cliquez sur la matrice pour zoomer

Image by Lukas Blazek

Notre blog

L'un des principaux livrables de ce projet est une matrice de solutions d'accessibilité. Ce tableau sera rempli de solutions et de normes de conception pour améliorer l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées qui souhaitent visiter les parcs nationaux et y participer à des activités. Un aperçu de cette matrice préliminaire peut être vu ci-dessous.

Aucun post publié dans cette langue actuellement
Tenez-vous à jour...

Nos partenaires

Nous collaborons et apprenons des organisations au Canada et dans le monde qui partagent des objectifs similaires de rendre le plein air plus accessible.

Making National Parks In Canada Accessible

The Accessible Parks Canada project is an interdisciplinary research project being conducted by the Engineering Health Lab (part of The KITE Research Institute) and affiliated researchers. Our goal is to revise guidelines for making Canada's national parks more accessible. Our research is supported by funding from Accessibility Standards Canada.

TrailRider being used at Elfin Lakes, British Columbia. Picture Credits: Disability Foundation

Our Research

National parks are becoming more accessible every year, but we are far from accomplishing true park accessibility for all. From our experience and consultations, we have identified key areas which require further exploration. We will be conducting research in these areas in the upcoming months. Stay tuned!

Read More >
Image by National Cancer Institute
Mobility.png

Mobility Adaptations

Image by Sigmund
Sensory.png

Sensory Adaptations

Image by Fakurian Design
Cognitive.png

Cognitive Adaptations

Accessibility Matrix

One of the main deliverables of this project is a matrix of accessibility solutions. This table will be populated with solutions and design standards to improve accessibility for individuals with disabilities that want to visit national parks and participate in activities there. A snapshot of this preliminary matrix can be seen below.

A snapshot of the accessibility matrix we have created.

Click Matrix To Zoom In

Image by Lukas Blazek

Our Blog

One of the main deliverables of this project is a matrix of accessibility solutions. This table will be populated with solutions and design standards to improve accessibility for individuals with disabilities that want to visit national parks and participate in activities there. A snapshot of this preliminary matrix can be seen below.

Our Partners

We are collaborating and learning from organizations in Canada and around the world who share similar goals of making the outdoors more accessible.